Imbibe Personality of the Year 2020 shortlist revealed



17 December 2019

Did you get your vote in? No, we’re not talking about the General Election, but Imbibe’s Personality of the Year awards, in which we honour the brightest and best our industry has to offer. Voting has now closed and we’re excited to announce who has made this year’s shortlist.

It’s a big year for these awards, as it’s the 10th year we’ve held them. To celebrate, we've added two new categories: the Trailblazer award (to recognise who is a driving force for social, environmental and economic responsibility in any sphere of the drinks industry) and the Personality of the Decade award, voted for by an industry panel (more on that to come).

A massive congratulations to everyone who has made it this far. Hundreds of your peers voted, so making it onto this list is no mean feat. Early next year, we’ll assemble our panel of industry experts to decide on the final winners in each category, which will be announced at the big event on 10 February 2020.

So, with no further ado, raise your glasses and please give it up for each and every nominee for Imbibe’s Personality of the Year awards 2020…


Categories & nominees

Bar Owner of the Year

Georgi Radev, Laki Kane, London

Erik Lorincz, Kwānt, London

Pajtim Tani Hasa, Lab 22, Cardiff

Aaron Wall & Ciaran Smith, Homeboy Bar, London

Max & Noel Venning, Three Sheets, London

Sergio Leanza & Anna Fairhead, Funkidory, London

Alex Kratena & Monica Berg, Tayēr+Elementary, London

Elliot Ball, Olly Brading & Andy Mil, Murder Inc, Cocktail Trading Co, London

Iain McPherson, Panda & Sons, Edinburgh


Restaurant Personality of the Year

Rémy Baben, Wild Honey St James, London

Liam Davy, Hawksmoor, UK

Michael Raebel, Holborn Dining Room, London

Rob Simpson, The Clove Club, London

Brodie Meah, Top Cuvée, London

Diana Rollan, D&D London, UK

Marcis Dzelzainis and Michael Sager, Sager & Wild, Fare, London

Gearoid Devany MS and Xavier Rousset MS, Cabotte, Trade Soho, London


Bar Team of the Year

Lab 22, Cardiff

Laki Kane, London

Scarfes Bar, London

St James Bar, London

Artesian, London

Lyaness, London

Little Mercies, London

Pub Personality of the Year

Clement Ogbonnaya, The Prince Of Peckham, London

Heath Ball, The Red Lion & Sun, London

John Azzopardi, Brooksteed Alehouse, Worthing

Oisin Rogers, Guinea Grill, London

Chris Kent, Coach & Horses, Malton

Freddie Fleming, The Bull & Last, London

Ian Payne, Stonegate Pub Company, UK


Hot Stuff

Nicole Sykes, Satan's Whiskers, London

James Hawkins, Sexy Fish, London

Jamie Lock, The Dead Canary, Cardiff

Melania Battiston, Medlar Restaurant, London

Kelly Harrison, New World Trading Company, UK

Yann Bouvignies, Scarfes Bar, London

Daniel & Jo Schofield, Schofield’s Bar, Manchester

Jack Wakelin, Public, Sheffield

Lily Waite, The Queer Brewing Project

Sommelier of the Year

André Luis Martins, Cavalry and Guards Club, London

Julien Sahut, Sexy Fish, London

Matteo Montone, Berners Tavern, London

Bert Blaize, St Leonards, London

Kelvin McCabe, Adam Handling Group, London

Melody Wong, Midsummer House, Cambridge

Elly Owen, Paul Ainsworth Group, Cornwall

Stefan Kobald, The Betterment, London

Bartender of the Year

Ciprian Zsagra, St James Bar, London

Alex Mills, Lab 22, Cardiff

Alessandro Geraci, Mr Fogg’s Residence, London

Monica Berg, Tayēr + Elementary, London

Federico Pavan, The Donovan Bar, London

Giovanni Tavano, Kwānt, London

Innovator of the Year

Iain McPherson, Panda & Sons, Edinburgh

Alex Kratena, Tayēr + Elementary, London

Julien Sahut, Wine Picker

Max Chater, Victory Distillery, London

Claire Warner, Æcorn Aperitifs

James Forbes, Little Pomona Cider

James Grundy & Felix James, Small Beer Brew Co

Charles & Ruth Simpson, Simpsons Wine Estate


Trailblazer of the Year

Anna Sebastian, Artesian, London

Tim Etherington Judge, Healthy Hospo

Ryan Chetiyawardana, Mr Lyan

Kelsey Ramage & Iain Griffiths, Trash Tiki 

Simone Caporale, P(our)

Douglas McMaster, Silo, London

Lily Waite, The Queer Brewing Project

Victoria Stewart, Hospitality Speaks

Educator of the Year

Mateusz Kowalczyk, Enotria & Coe

Ross Duncan, The Stable Bar and Restaurants

Jim Gore, Global Wine Academy

Stuart Bale, Crucible

Natsuki Kikuya, WSET

Erica Dent, Enjoy Discovering Wine

Gabe Cook, The Ciderologist


Industry Legend

Ago Perrone, The Connaught, London

Brian Silva, Rules, London

Jared Brown, Sipsmith

Colin Dunn, Diageo

Pete Brown, beer writer

Ryan Chetiyawardana, Mr Lyan

The winners will be announced at our official awards ceremony in London on 10 February.

Related content


Meet the Imbibe Personality of the Year 2018 shortlist

It's here ladies and gentlemen, the coveted shortlist for Imbibe Personality of the Year 2018.


Top trumps of 2017: Imbibe's Personality of the Year shortlist

Roll up and marvel at the list of bartenders, somms, F&B managers and anyone else in the on-trade absolutely killing it.


The Imbibe Personality of the Year 2019 shortlist has arrived

From spry up-and-comers to industry legends, the Imbibe Personality of the Year awards recognise some of the best and brightest members of the on-trad

News |  Wine

Imbibe announces Personality of the Year 2020 winners

Last night the best and brightest in the drinks industry gathered together at 12th Knot, Sea Containers, London, to celebrate the 10th Imbibe Personality of the Year Awards.