Meet the Imbibe Personality of the Year 2018 shortlist

04 December 2017

It's here ladies and gentlemen, the coveted shortlist for Imbibe Personality of the Year 2018. Over the past few months we've been keeping our eyes open and ears to the ground, looking out for the bartenders, somms, F&B managers and anyone else in the on-trade who's absolutely killing it. 

Now in its eighth year, the Imbibe Personality of the Year awards is here to shine a light on all those personalities doing wonderful things for our industry. It's an award made even more special by the fact that is voted for, and judged, by your peers.

These peers include the likes of restaurateur George Bergier, the Connaught Bar's Ago Perrone, Michelin-starred chef Adam Byatt, Northcote’s Craig Bancroft, Gin Journey’s Leon Dalloway, Beer Belle Annabel Smith and Mixology Group’s Myles Cunliffe.

With the votes counted and verified, we can now reveal the shortlist for Personality of the Year 2018... good luck everyone!

Categories and nominees

James Fowler
James Fowler

Restaurant Personality of the Year

Jackson Boxer, Brunswick House, London
Brad Carter & Holly Jackson, Carters of Moseley, Birmingham
James Fowler, The Larder House, Bournemouth
Adam Handling, Frog restaurants, London
Kate Hawkings, Bellita and Bell's Diner and Bar Rooms, Bristol
Douglas McMaster, Cub, London; Silo, Brighton
Owen Morgan, Bar 44 Tapas y Copas Group, Cardiff
Rob Simpson, The Clove Club, London


Sly Augustin
Sly Augustin

Bar Personality of the Year

Mike Aikman, Bramble Bar, Edinburgh
Sly Augustin, Trailer Happiness, London
Nate Brown, Merchant House Group, London
Chris Edwards, Filter + Fox, Liverpool
JJ Goodman, The London Cocktail Club, Craft Cocktail Co and Keystones Cocktail Club, Worcester
Mia Johansson, Swift, London
Tim Laferla, Eve Bar, Adam Handling Ltd, London
Xavier Landais, Caprice Holdings
Oliver Pluck, The East Village, Leeds


Jonny Bright
Jonny Bright

Pub Personality of the Year

Tim Bird, Cheshire Cat Pubs and Bars, Cheshire, Staffordshire and Dorset
Jonny Bright & Amélie Varin, Hereford Beer House, Herefordshire
James Catlin, The Fifth Hants Volunteer Arms, Southsea
Glen Duckett, The Eagle & Child, Ramsbottom, Lancashire
Marc Duvauchalle, The Old Customs House, Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth
Wil Fuller, Hippo Inns, London
Mark Higgs, The Castle at Edgehill, Warwickshire
Rob Star, Electric Star Pubs, London
Pete Tiley, The Salutation Inn, Ham, Gloucestershire


Giovanni Spezziga
Giovanni Spezziga

Hotel Personality of the Year

Dan Berger, The Ned, London
Dino Koletsas, The Langham, London
Jan Konetzki, Ten Trinity Square – Four Seasons Hotel
Jacopo Mazzeo, The Pig Hotel, New Forest
Declan McGurk & Erik Lorincz, American Bar at the Savoy, London
Giovanni Spezziga, The Coral Room & Dalloway Terrace, The Bloomsbury, London
Jenny Willing, The Curtain, London



Ericka Duffy
Ericka Duffy

Innovator of the Year

Stuart Bale, Crucible, London
Ericka Duffy, Mothership Group, Edinburgh and various ventures
Elli Jafari, The Curtain, London
Julien Sahut, Wine Picker
Tristan Stephenson & Tom Aske, Fluid Movement
Rich Woods, Duck & Waffle, London
Simon Wright, Hawkes Cidery & Taproom, London



Julian de Féral
Julian de Féral

Educator of the Year

Julia Bailey, Bibendum PLB Group
Matthew Cocks, Wine Ed
Gabe Cook, The Ciderologist
Julian de Féral, Gorgeous Group
Ed Hughes, Sharp's Brewery - Brew+Press, Cornwall
Emma Sharpe, Mitchells & Butlers
Jonny Tyson, BPET, ZX Ventures
Adam Wilson, The Liars Group and Black Dog Group, Manchester



Balazs Gocsei
Balazs Gocsei

Hot Stuff

Greg Almeida, Scarfes Bar, London
Chelsie Bailey, Red Light, Bristol
Balazs Gocsei, London Cocktail Club, London
Kieran Hartley, New World Trading Company
Robin Honhold, Mr Lyan Ltd
Mike McGinty, The Voyage of Buck, Edinburgh
Piotr Pietras MS, Launceston Place, London
Julia Sewell, The Fat Duck, Bray



Christine Parkinson
Christine Parkinson

Industry Legend

David Bruce, The City Pub Group
Mark DorberThe Anchor at Walberswick, The Swan at Stratford St Mary
Brian Silva, Balthazar, London
Alessandro Palazzi, Dukes, London
Christine Parkinson, Hakkasan Group
Ian Payne, Stonegate Pub Company

The winners will be announced at a tiki-tastic award ceremony in central London on the 12 February.

Related content

News |  Wine

Imbibe Personality of the Year 2020 shortlist revealed

From industry legends and innovators, to the best bar team and exciting trailblazers, here are the nominees for next year's awards.


The Imbibe Personality of the Year 2019 shortlist has arrived

From spry up-and-comers to industry legends, the Imbibe Personality of the Year awards recognise some of the best and brightest members of the on-trad


Top trumps of 2017: Imbibe's Personality of the Year shortlist

Roll up and marvel at the list of bartenders, somms, F&B managers and anyone else in the on-trade absolutely killing it.